Excellence Awards 2015

Excellence awards EnnelynThe annual Excellence Awards provide professional recognition for contributions to Chinese language teaching in schools and for enabling the study of China across the curriculum in both Primary and Secondary Schools.

** Nominations are now closed. We shall notify the winners shortly. **

Thank you for all the nominations we have received this year.

The Excellence Awards will be presented on the main stage at our Annual Conference, 12-13 June 2015.

Who is eligible?

A great many people contribute to the study of Chinese and about China in UK schools.

We welcome nominations for everyone who deserves professional recognition. For example: Teachers (primary and secondary schools), student teachers, classroom assistants, trip organisers, mentors, tutors, heads of department, headteachers, governors, sponsors and business partners.

How it works

To nominate your colleague, simply fill in the form below. Each nomination requires a supporting statement (100-300 words) to describe the individual’s contributions and impact in context.

1/ Nominate your colleague – by 7 May (nominations now closed)
2/ Panel reviews all nominations and selects winners – by 20 May
3/ Winners are notified and invited as one day conference guests – by 22 May
4/ Winners receive a certificate and prize on the main stage at the conference – 12 June 2015, 1pm

Awards may be presented in absentia where necessary. Please note the change this year: the awards ceremony will take place during the day at the conference, not during the evening dinner.


If you have any questions, please contact the team at chinesenetworks@ioe.ac.uk

Previous winners

Congratulations to all nominees from previous years, and particularly to the award winners:

Yanyan Wang (2010)
Elspeth Wiltshire (2010)
Qiumei Chen (2010)
Joan Deslandes (2010)
Alex Ferraby (2010)
Anne Martin (2010)
Annabel Parker (2010)
Keith Robinson (2010)
Jim Anderson (2011)
Carol Austin (2011)
Jennifer Buster (2011)
Charmian Hartley (2011)
Pat Howarth (2011)
Hanghang Huang (2011)
Ian Kirkham (2011)
Linying Liu (2011)
Xiuqin Liu (2011)
Feng Tang (2011)
Guixia Qiao (2011)
Lili Sun (2012)
Xiaoming Sun (2012)
Lisa Wang (2012)
Jing Xiao (2012)
Victoria Allen (2012)
Zhou Hu (2012)
Mark Bailie (2013)
Qingjiang Chen (2013)
Jacqui McIver (2013)
Michelle Tate (2013)
Cheng-han Wu (2013)
Kou You (2014)
Xing Li (2014)
Rob Neal (2014)
Ennelyn Schmidt-Roberts (2014)
Alice Webb (2014)
Xianhui Yan (2014)

Click here to Book your place at the 12th Annual Chinese Conference 2015

Click here to read about the Excellence Awards in 2014

Click here to visit the main Conference page