IOE Confucius Classrooms

UCL Institute of Education Confucius Classrooms are mainstream schools across England that have Chinese firmly embedded in their own curriculum and can give advice, support and taster classes to other schools in their region that are looking to start offering Chinese. The Confucius Classroom Curriculum Models for Introducing/Developing Secondary Mandarin document explores the different ways to introduce and develop Chinese on the school curriculum.

There are currently 44 IOE Confucius Classrooms, in a variety of different English schools (state-maintained and independent) and teaching pupils at various different stages (ranging from infant, age 4, through to sixth form college, age 18).


See below for a list of IOE Confucius Classrooms who are committed to helping other schools to improve their Chinese provision:

London and South East Region

Alexandra Park School
Bidwell Gardens, London, N11 2AZ
Email: jnaidoo@apsch.org.uk
Tel: 020 8826 4880
Confucius Classroom contact: Jay Naidoo
School website: www.alexandrapark.school

Anglo European School
Anglo European School, Willow Green, Ingatestone, Essex, CM4 0DJ
Email: wangf@aesessex.co.uk
Tel: 012773 54018
Confucius Classroom contact: Frank Wang
School website: www.aesessex.co.uk

Bay House School & Sixth Form
Bay House School & Sixth Form, Gomer Lane, Alverstoke, Gosport, PO12 2QP
Email: xlu@bayhouse.hants.sch.uk
Tel: 023 9258 7931
Confucius Classroom contact: Xin Lu
School website: www.bayhouse.hants.sch.uk

Becket Keys Church of England School
Sawyers Hall Lane, Brentwood, CM15 9DA
Email: j.zhao@becketkeys.org 
Tel: 01277 286600
Confucius Classroom contact: Jingjing Zhao
School website: www.becketkeys.org

Benenden School
Benenden, Cranbrook, Kent, TN17 4AA
Email: awb@benenden.kent.sch.uk
Tel: 01580 240592
Confucius Classroom contact: Alice Webb
School website: www.benenden.kent.sch.uk

Beths Grammar School
Hartford Road, Bexley, Kent, DA5 1NE
Email: MSJLI@beths.bexley.sch.uk
Tel: 01322 556538
Confucius Classroom contact: Lina Li
School website: www.beths.bexley.sch.uk

Brockenhurst College
Lyndhurst Road, Brockenhurst, Hampshire, SO42 7ZE
Email: XLI@brock.ac.uk
Tel: 01590 625555
Confucius Classroom contact: Xing Li
School website: www.brock.ac.uk

Christ’s College Finchley
East End Road, Finchley, London, N2 0SE
Email: jwoo@ccfplus.com
Tel: 0208 349 3581
Confucius Classroom contact: Jia Woo
School website: www.christscollegefinchley.org.uk

Dartford Grammar School
West Hill, Dartford, Kent, DA1 2HW
Email: MLin@dartfordgrammar.kent.sch.uk
Tel: 01322 223039
Confucius Classroom contact: Meng Lin
School website: www.dartfordgrammarschool.org.uk

Downe House School
Hermitage Rd, Cold Ash, Thatcham RG18 9JJ
Email: chenq@downehouse.net
Tel: 01635 200286
Confucius Classroom Contact: Qiumei Chen
School website: www.downehouse.net

Gumley House Convent High School
Saint John’s Road, Isleworth, Middlesex TW7 6XF
Email: slong@gumley.hounslow.sch.uk
Tel: 020 8568 8692
Confucius Classroom contact: Sara Long
School website: www.gumley.hounslow.sch.uk

Highdown School & Sixth Form Centre
Surley Road, Emmer Green, Reading, RG4 8LR
Email: office@highdown.reading.sch.uk
Tel: 0118 901 5800
School website: www.highdown.reading.sch.uk

Homewood School & Sixth Form Centre
Ashford Road, Tenterden, Kent, TN30 6LT
Email: y.tang@homewood.kent.sch.uk; p.cafferty@homewood.kent.sch.uk
Tel: 01580 764222
Confucius Classroom contact: Yanwen Tang
School website: www.homewood-school.co.uk

Hove Park School
Valley Campus, Hangleton Way, Hove, BN3 8AA
Email: j.sandford@hovepark.org.uk
Tel: 01273295002
Confucius Classroom contact: James Sandford
School website: www.hovepark.brighton-hove.sch.uk

Kingsford Community School
Kingsford Way, Becton, London, E6 5JG
Email: CLI@kingsford.newham.sch.uk
Tel: 020 7476 4700
Confucius Classroom contact: Chunlei Li
School website: www.kingsfordschool.org.uk

Lambeth Academy
Elms Road, Clapham, London, SW4 9ET
Email: kwang@lambeth-academy.org
Tel: 020 7819 4700
Confucius Classroom contact: Katie Wang
School website: www.lambeth-academy.org

Lister Community School
St. Mary’s Road, Plaistow, London, E13 9AE
Email: mengru.xie@lister.newham.sch.uk
Tel: 0208 471 3311
Confucius Classroom contact: Mengru Xie
School website: www.lister.newham.sch.uk

Rosendale Primary School
Rosendale Road, West Dulwich, SE21 8LR
Email: youkou@rosendale.cc
Tel: 020 8670 4962
Confucius Classroom contact: You Kou
School website: www.rosendale.cc

Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys
Langton Lane, Nackington Road, Canterbury CT4 7AS
Email: lhuang@thelangton.kent.sch.uk
Tel: 01227 463567
Confucius Classroom Contact: Liyao Huang
School website: www.thelangton.org.uk

Sir Roger Manwood’s School
Manwood Rd, Sandwich, Kent, CT13 9JX
Email: info@srms.kent.sch.uk
Tel: 01304 610200
Confucius Classroom contact: Leanne Li
School website: www.manwoods.co.uk

St Mary Magdalene Academy
Liverpool Road, London, N7 8PG
Email: yadi.luo@smmacademy.org
Tel: 020 7697 0123
Confucius Classroom contact: Yadi Luo
School website: www.smmacademy.org

Trinity School
Shirley Park, Croydon, CR9 7AT
Email: psl@trinity.croydon.sch.uk
Tel: 020 8656 9541
Confucius Classroom contact: Pei-shu Lin
School website: www.trinity-school.org

UCL Academy
Adelaide Rd, London, NW3 3AQ
Email: nwilliams@uclacademy.co.uk
Tel: 020 7449 3080
Confucius Classroom contact: Nancy Williams
School website: www.uclacademy.co.uk

The Urswick School
Paragon Road, Hackney, London, E9 6NR
Email: SLI@theurswickschool.co.uk
Tel: 020 8985 2430
Confucius Classroom contact: Shan Li
School website: www.theurswickschool.co.uk

Wellington College
Duke’s Ride, Crowthorne, West Berkshire, RG45 7PU
Email: yyt@wellingtoncollege.org.uk
Tel: 01344 444000
Confucius Classroom contact: Yunyun Tang
School website: www.wellingtoncollege.org.uk

South West Region

Devonport High School for Girls
Lyndhurst Road, Plymouth, PL2 3DL
Email: dbroadbent@dhsg.co.uk
Tel: 017527 05024
Confucius Classroom contact: Denise Broadbent
School website: www.dhsg.co.uk

Katharine Lady Berkeley’s School
Wotton Road, Wotton under Edge, GL12 8RB
Email: mtate@klbschool.org.uk
Tel: 014538 42227
Confucius Classroom contact: Michelle Tate
School website: www.klbschool.org.uk

Millfield School
Millfield Street, Somerset, BA16 0YD
Email: keeler.j@millfieldschool.com
Tel: 01458 444264
Confucius Classroom contact: Jing Keeler
School website: www.millfieldschool.com

Torquay Boys’ Grammar School
Shiphay Manor Drive, Torquay, TQ2 7EL
Email: vallen@tbgs.torbay.sch.uk
Tel: 01803 615501
Confucius Classroom contact: Victoria Allen
School website: www.tbgs.co.uk

Midlands Region

Dixie Grammar School
Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, CV13 0LE
Email: GuL@dixie.org.uk
Tel: 01455 292 244
Confucius Classroom contact: Lucy Gu
School website: www.dixie.org.uk

Finham Park School
Green Lane, Coventry, CV3 6EA
Email: h.lewis@finhampark.co.uk; j.darby@finhampark.co.uk
Tel: 024 764 18135
Confucius Classroom contact: Jenny Darby
School website: www.finhampark.co.uk

Robin Hood Primary Academy
Pitmaston Road, Hall Green, Birmingham, B28 9PP
Email: shaughey@robinhood.bham.sch.uk
Tel: 0121 464 2187
Confucius Classroom contact: Simone Haughey
School website: www.robinhoodprimary.com

Queen Mary’s Grammar School
Sutton Road, Walsall, West Midlands, WS1 2PG
email: k-wang@qmgs.walsall.sch.uk
Tel: 01922 720696
Confucius Classroom contact: Kim Wang
School website: www.qmgs.walsall.sch.uk

Uppingham School
Uppingham, Rutland, LE15 9QE
Email: ZBZ@uppingham.co.uk
Tel: 01572 822216
Confucius Classroom contact: Zach Zeng
School website: www.uppingham.co.uk

East Region

Oundle School
Oundle School, Oundle, Peterborough PE8 4GH
Email: SRL@oundleschool.org.uk
Tel: 01832 277122
Confucius Classroom contact: Shuling Russo-Lai
School website: www.oundleschool.org.uk

North West Region

Calday Grange Grammar School
Grammar School Lane, Wirral, CH48 8GG
Email: wei.gan@calday.wirral.sch.uk
Tel: 0151 625 2727
Confucius Classroom contact: Wei Gan
School website: www.caldaygrangegrammarschool.co.uk

Greasby Infant School
Barker Lane, Greasby, Wirral, CH49 3NX
Email: headteacher@greasby-infant.wirral.sch.uk
Tel: 0151 677 2830
Confucius Classroom contact: Joanne Hall
School website: www.greasby-infant.eschools.co.uk

St Chad’s High School
Grangeway, Runcorn, Cheshire, WA7 5YH
Email: helen.farrar@st-chads.halton.sch.uk
Tel: 01928 564106
Confucius Classroom contact: Helen Farrar
School website: www.stchadsprimaryschool.com

The Queen’s School
City Walls Road, Chester, CH12NN
Email: lwhittam@thequeensschol.co.uk
Tel: 01244 312078
Confucius Classroom contact: Lucy Whittam
School website: www.thequeensschool.co.uk

Upton Hall School FCJ
Upton, Wirral, CH49 6LJ
Email: huzhou@uptonhall.org
Tel: 0151 677 7696
Confucius Classroom contact: Zhou Hu
School website: www.uptonhallschool.co.uk

Yorkshire and North East Region

Archbishop Sentamu Academy
1 Bilton Grove, Hull, North Humberside HU9 5YB
Email: dai.l1@sentamuacademy.org.uk
Tel: 01482 781912
Confucius Classroom contact: Liqun Dai
School website: www.sentamu.com

Carmel College
The Headlands, Darlington, DL3 8RW
Email: mthonnart@carmel.org.uk
Tel: 01325 254525
Confucius Classroom contact: Marielle Thonnart
School website: www.carmel.org.uk

Durham Johnston School
Crossgate Moor, Durham, DH1 4SU
Email: g.wood@durham-johnston.durham.sch.uk
Tel: 0191 384 3887
Confucius Classroom contact: Gill Wood
School website: www.durhamjohnston.org.uk

Hummersknott Academy
Edinburgh Drive, Darlington, Co. Durham, DL3 8AR
Email: lmd@hummersknott.org.uk
Tel: 01325241191
Confucius Classroom contact: Jill Madden
School website: www.hummersknott.org.uk

Quality at the core

IOE Confucius Classrooms are expected to offer:

  1. Chinese on curriculum with a locally employed teacher and development plan for Chinese that has headteacher approval
  2. A commitment to developing Chinese in the local area through work with other schools and Hanban teachers
  3. A commitment to sharing expertise and materials by convening regional networking meetings twice a year
  4. A commitment to supporting a PGCE student or other teacher trainees
  5. Sharing of Mandarin results and student numbers year on year